Discover
Discover
Sant Joan de Boí
Basilica church, with three naves separated by columns.
Chancel, with three apses, the central one modified and the sides semi-cylindrical.
Square tower bell tower attached to the south façade, the top floor is a later modification.
The original mural paintings were torn between 1919 and 1923, currently copies of the mural paintings have been made inside and outside.
Among the paintings it is worth mentioning the repertoire of the Bestiary, the Stoning of Saint Stephen and the scene of musicians and jugglers.
Information
-
General information:
Timeline
- s. XI: First constructive moment.
- s. XII: Reform of the bell tower.
- s. XVI – s. XIX: Various reforms that affect the original structure.
- 1920/1923: First removal of paintings.
- 1976 / 1978: Second removal of paintings and restoration.
- 1977 / 1998: Restoration and copying of paintings.
Visits: Church open to the public. Check timetables and guided tour service at the Romanesque Centre of the Vall de Boí.
- Town: Boí